Jelly Ballet

Posted on March 25, 2009

3


Today I went to the Melbourne Aquarium.  I wasn’t sure what to expect but the prospect of visiting a place like that without kids complaining about being hungry and tired feet was appealing.  What an incredible place! dscf0217My favorite exhibit was the jellyfish.  They were so graceful dancing around underwater.  One tank was dark with a red light so the jellies reflected red.  It was very cool. 

Another thing I loved was the underwater tank tunnel where the fish are swimming over you in the tunnel.  I didn’t know manta rays could be so HUGE!  Those are native to Aus.  Smooth Rays I think they called ’em.  And the guide said they can get even bigger! DOH!  I can’t imagine.  The day ended with divers going into the big tank to feed the sharks, sea turtles and rays.  The rays were crazy getting on top of the divers.  The nurse shark, Mitch (heh male nurse) did eat and I saw him extend his jaws out of his mouth.  They said nurse sharks can do that up to 15cm.  Jeez!  I’d hate to have that guy at the dinner table.  Speaking of which, I’d better go start cooking.

Another exhibit where I got some good pics was the penguins.  They are so socialable with one another.  And I learned that Aus actually has territory in Antarctica.  Who knew?dscf0178

One sign really caught my attention.  A certain someone will know why…

dscf0195

Posted in: Travel