Shark Bait’s Oz Update!

Posted on March 24, 2009

0


findingnemo_dorybruceThis American Shark Bait  arrived in Oz on Saturday (just kidding… you know I can’t swim.  Great Barrier Reef is NOT on the itinerary).   I’m only getting a chance to post now mostly because wireless net access is well… not the same here.  I can honestly say that Americans are spoiled.  Most airports have free wireless access (not so here in Melbourne) and the hotel wanted $15 AUD for 20 minutes of access and I had to rent a network cable.  So… I had to wait for more permanent digs to get my access. 

Saturday and Sunday were spent exploring Melbourne at night (what a cool city!) and checking out the local shopping.  (HUGE mall — Chadstone)  I got to try some more Aussie food like meat pie (YUM! with ketchup) and a pineapple glazed donut from Donut King.  Needless to say, my Jenny Craig counselor was probably feeling a disturbance in The Force the moment I took my first bite.

Roos @ Philip IslandMonday we went to Philip Island.  OMG!  I was in heaven and yes, I saw kangaroos.  They were behind a fence but we could get really closeup.  The track tour was AWESOME!  I got to stand on the start/finish line.  (My heart still skips a beat when I think about it.)  And I also got to stand on the winner’s podium.

Tuesday was my first day on my own going into Melbourne.  I immediately found the Factory Outlet mall (hee hee) and I took the City tram around the perimeter to get familiar with everything.  I discovered Cherry Ripe ice cream. 

Mmmm!

Mmmm!

(Cherry Ripe is my new favorite candy: cherry flavored coconut covered in chocolate. Hmmm, there goes that disturbance in The Force again.)  I ate a cone of Cherry Ripe ice cream (I know how great is THAT?!) while sitting by the Yarra River and watching the boats.  Getting around was easy.  I walked most of it.  (Hey, I can’t just keep eating like that and not get some exercise.)  Buses & trams are all over.  I didn’t take my camera yesterday.  I will today though.

So I know everyone’s been wondering how I am.  I’m doing great thanks to a special Aussie who would probably be embarrassed if I mention him here.  But he knows who he is. (Well, duh!)  This has been the trip of a lifetime so far… I haven’t laughed so much in ages and the countryside is just beautiful.  The people are so nice and hey, the accent is just music to my ears.  I want to see as much as I can in the short time I’m here.  It’s just incredible!

