Campaign Mode for Change

Posted on December 9, 2008

0


changeiscoming_smLast week I attended a conference for public relations professionals in government. What  a great experience being around kindred spirits and sitting in one great presentation after another.  One speaker from the global PR group, Edelman was Laura Guitar.  She made the greatest impact on me because she spoke about Public Engagement.  One thing she said that still resonates in my mind is that when you run a campaign, you stay in campaign mode after you’ve won the election.  Like the Obama campaign has been doing. 

Because there is no “off-season” as another speaker, Don Yaeger explained in his presentation about what makes “The Great Ones Great.”  I like that idea.  Staying in campaign mode means you’re always looking to keep the momentum going.  You’re not resting on the recent victory and you’re not satisfied with the status quo. 

My brother said it so eloquently yesterdy, “Life’s too short.”  Indeed.  I got an email today from the Obama Campaign’s David Plouffe.  (Yes, one of those mass emails, but not junk.)  It said, “Change is Coming.”  President-Elect Barack said, “This victory alone is not the change we seek; it is only the chance for us to make that change.” And I believe it is if we can all just fnd the energy and motivation to stay in ‘campaign mode’ then I’m convinced there is nothing you and I can’t change for the better.

Posted in: Observations