Jazz vs. Road Rage

Posted on July 31, 2008

0


Diana Krall Album Cover

Diana Krall -The Very Best Of

So I think I discovered an antidote for preventing road rage and general frustration with horrible traffic.  I still don’t understand why it should take me up to an hour to travel 15 miles every morning and evening, but there is solace.  In the sultry and smooth voice of Diana Krall.  I’m liking it so much that I’ve actually thought about my trip home tonight in a positive way.  I noticed that on the way to work this morning, I was way more relaxed and not so engrossed in the idiotic things people were doing around me.  Like the usual:  driving aggressively, cutting me off and turning without warning or signals, stupid construction work that never addresses the real problems.  No, that all melted away …  the one song that impressed me most was “You Go To My Head.”  The man who is lingering in her mind must be incredible.  The song has been echoing in my mind all day.  The lyrics are so simple and yet so powerful.  I don’t know why.  I guess it just touched something in my own heart.  — “You go to my head, and you linger like a haunting refrain, and I find you spinning round in my brain, like the bubbles in a glass of champagne.”  Love can be that way sometimes.  Make you feel good and bad all at once.  “So I say to myself: get a hold of yourself, Can’t you see that it can never be?”  So ya… the song hit me somehow and the road rage never got a chance to even get started.  Hmm, what a nice way to start the day.  With a little love story about crazy romance.  It went to my head and will stay there.

Posted in: Observations